Making Scant History Work For Fiction

I'm still working on an historical novel set in medieval times. Of course, this necessitated a lot of research; still, that age didn't have a scintilla of the informational resources that we have today, so imagination – tempered with logic – has its work cut out for it.

Images

image via historyforkids.org

I'm both enjoying and concerned with not trivializing the era's sensibilities by writing in cliches, i.e., it would be easy to oversimplify the era's foundling Christianity, Europe's almost completely uneducated public, or to demean the ruling famlies of medieval Europe.

This serves  notice that I should watch myself as I pick my way through these areas of that era.

Leave a Reply

