Tell ‘Em the Real

My short story collection is nearing publication, the date set, only a few short months away. So how do I handle publicity? Signings? Speaking engagements?

image via ducttapemarketingconsultant.com

My publisher, a rather savvy author in his own “write,” downplays the value of readings at such meet-ups, and I think I agree. I long ago recognized that, as author readings drone on, I tend to tune them out. It’s a rare writer who can read his/her own work with enough drama to keep your attention from wandering. Thus, in the past, I’ve kept readings I’ve done short.

What, then, do I talk about? I don’t know about you writers out there, but my stories are a crazy-quilt of fictionalized instances from my own life. I used to look at my span of years as a long series of foibles meant to assert my presence. But it’s these moments, as you flail away, trying to keep your balance between being considered a laughingstock and someone who has achieved something noteworthy, that enrich your life. It’s that enrichment that gives you something to write about. And something to talk about at writer events.

Visit Bob’s NEW web site here, and you can “like” his FB Fan Page here.

Leave a Reply

