And So It Begins

Finally! A book of mine coming out. It’s just what I wanted; a generous, writer-friendly contract from an indie publisher. It took two years to get it to publication time, but at least I didn’t have to run the “who gives a shit?” agent gauntlet, and the editing was spare, equally writer-friendly.

I’m a happy guy.

Or I was.

th-4

Now, with the publication date a mere six weeks away, and following a pep talk from my publisher, I’m doing the groundwork for a planned book tour. I’ve realized that one has to entertain in such appearances, especially since my name isn’t a wholly household word. So I’ve worked up a kick-butt presentation, complete with slides, sure to generate at least three good belly laughs from an attentive audience. Okay! Rubbing my hands together now. Look up stores, map out a theoretical tour.

So far it’s been tough. Some of the comments and questions I’m dealing with from book stores (the parens enclose what I thought at the time, not what I said.)

  • “Um, we don’t find author appearances of benefit to the store.” (No? How about to the author?)
  • “We don’t see much future in new fiction.” (Really. No one reads that stuff, huh?)
  • “We deal mostly in used books.” (Huh. Thought those stores had gone away. Anyway, this one is new!! Right off the presses!!)
  • “Is this one of those vanity books? Self-published?” (I’m sure I mentioned “my publisher.” Yeah, I’m sure I did.)

Where has this gotten me so far? I’ve written letters and e-mails to several stores – at their request – stating my case. The book stores are being overly cautious, it seems to me. Almost paranoid. The cause? I guess we can add so many silver-tongued writers to the list of publishing-related scam artists.

So my strategy has become a bit more timid now. I simply ask to state my case, to humbly ask for them to carry my book. And in my letters I suggest the possibility of an appearance.

Stay tuned. I’m not discouraged yet.

 

Visit my website here, and my FB Fan Page here for more on ideas and events that matter to me – and possibly to you.

Leave a Reply

