New Forms, Chances Are

Most of what’s being written  about new publishing opportunities has to do largely with e-books, and some about new marketing opportunities, both involving the digital world.

But why not also involve the structure of writing itself?

th-4

 

An idea has been slowly coming to me over the past couple of months involving just such a twist. We know that Tolstoy, Dickens, and others, made their writerly bones by publishing their novels in serialized form. The lure of getting a comely story in bits and pieces has the potential to enthrall readers, and I see no reason why it shouldn’t work today — in perhaps a more inventive form.

The novella I’m writing now – a dystopian piece – has me thinking broader and deeper, story-wise, and structure-wise. More on this experiment before the end of the year.

 

 

Visit my website here, where you’ll have an opportunity to download an audio eversion of my latest, Sam’s Place, as well as select book review podcasts. Then there’s my FB Fan Page here. On both you’ll find more on ideas and events that matter to me – and possibly to you.

Leave a Reply

