Reading Hooker Heaven

 

thDead Light District/Jill Edmondson

 

When I first began to write long fiction, I cast my lot with the murder/mystery genre. Later, writing what I stubbornly take to be literary fiction, mysteries, murders, and suspense forever kept turning up in my writing like dead bodies. If you have the mystery knack, it’ll stick with you, permeating whatever you write.

th-1

Jill Edmondson, a Canadian writer, certainly of the same ilk, hasn’t strayed from the mystery genre the way I have. This book is one of a series of Sasha Jackson, private eye, mysteries. Sasha here has been hired by a madam to hunt down the a missing hooker, and in the way of this circuitously-written genre, she comes across other murders in tracking down Mary Carmen, a Hispanic hooker who only wants to go home. Too, there’s romance for Sasha, charming insecurities, and fronting a rock band: a character like all of us, sampling life from different perspectives and talents while struggling to make a living.

Sasha/Jill’s voice here is strong, marbled with humor that sticks to even the most heinous of acts, and the book is full of interestingly depicted secondary characters. If there’s a fault here, I find it in the too-often switches to Mary Carmen’s point of view, who tells us rather too much of what Sasha eventually discovers as she tracks down the hooker and solves murders. Still, it’s a fun, sexy, highly entertaining read.

 

My rating 16 of 20 stars

 

 

Visit my website here, and my FB Fan Page here for more on ideas and events that matter to me – and possibly to you.

Leave a Reply

