Biscuits and Concrete

I sometimes feel the need to air my inner curmudgeon, and this is one of those times.

I’m currently reading a book that keeps referring to concrete as cement. It’s not the first time I’ve seen this erroneous usage in print, but I do admit that some writers get it right. Still, let me say it loudly – CONCRETE IS NOT CEMENT. Heck I might just as well call biscuits flour.

I’m belaboring the point now, but I feel I must give you writers out there the following to mull over:

Biscuit: a small, typically round cake of bread Unknown

Its components:

  • flour
  • baking powder
  • baking soda
  • salt
  • shortening
  • water or milk

Concrete: a heavy, rough building material that can be spread or poured into molds and that forms a stonelike mass on hardeningimages

It’s components:

  • cement
  • sand
  • aggregate (stone)
  • water

Okay, so now you know. But a warning, writer: if I see this erroneous usage in one of your books I’m liable to steal a copy (or buy, if I must), mark up the offending usage(s), and send it back to you.

 

 

Visit my website here. Then there’s my FB Fan Page here. On both you’ll find more on ideas and events that matter to me – and possibly to you.

Leave a Reply

