To Read Or Listen, That’s The Question

 

Unknown

This week, when a technician stopped by to install a security gizmo for me, he quickly made note of my book collection and bemoaned the fact that as a newlywed he hardly had time to read any more. But, he added, I listen to audiobooks now when I’m on the road.

So I offered him a free copy of an audiobook for my story collection, Sam’s Place, and he gobbled it up. (NOTE: I still have a few free audiobook copies of that book, so if you want a copy, let me know. It’s the complete book, not a teaser.)

But as this article makes clear, there are no clear cut advantages to either print or audio books. For myself, I think reading a book, whether print or digital, requires a bit more participation by the reader than audio, but that’s a close call.

Let me know what you think.

 

Visit my website here. Then there’s my FB Fan Page here. On both you’ll find more on ideas and events that matter to me — and possibly to you.

2 thoughts on “To Read Or Listen, That’s The Question

  1. I find audio books quite satisfying and uses otherwise wasted (driving) time. Although on occasion I have, through habit, gone to the wrong destination and sometimes sat in the car for extra minutes to finish a section. Not unlike reading.
    Sitting in a chair and reading? I save that for magazines. I find magazine articles to be better appreciated in short bursts that allow for back-of-the-mind mulling after reading one or a few.

    1. Sounds like audio books can be as dangerous to one’s attention while driving as a smart phone. That back-of-the-mind mulling you mentioned happens to me in breaks while reading novels. As well as when reading magazines and newspapers. Thanks for the comment, Frank.

Leave a Reply

