images

 

I’m on the horns of a dilemma. Okay, I won’t use such a creepy cliche again. Ever. Promise.

I’m writing a novel that’s vaguely autobiographical. The advantage to fiction – at least in this case – is that I can assign my history to a string of characters, sort of a literary shell game.

Now a lady friend is encouraging me to stop that. Write a memoir if you’re going to put so much of your own history into a piece of writing. People don’t want fiction anyway, she continues. They want the real. The truth.

That’s from the reader’s standpoint, though, not the writer’s.

Readers out there, what’s your preference? Memoir or  perhaps an even better story though the voice of fiction?

 

Visit my website here. Then there’s my FB Fan Page here. On both you’ll find more on ideas and events that matter to me — and possibly to you.

Leave a Reply

