Selected Shorts V

Haven’t done one of these in a long time. I’m doing it now primarily to solicit comments on the new blog(s) format. Tell me what you think, especially if the new name resonates.
School starts again next week – my last one of coursework – then the masters project. And as you may have guessed, the Masters project has to do with WWII, the conflict between Germany and Russia. My research is complete, and I’m on a final draft of the chapter outline. I haven’t been doing chapter outlines lately, but I felt it was necessary on this one. It’s a historical novel, and there is much detail involved I could be called to task to explain. The outline helps keep things accurate time-wise, as well as helping to keep a balance between the history and the story.
Doing the research has been extremely gratifying. Not only have I learned a great deal about an aspect of WWII that’s gotten very little ink, but the people I’ve met – mostly ex-military – have been very gracious to me and most helpful in pointing me in the right directions and sharing information and insights. More on that as it develops.
I’m reading a book of essays you should know about: The Partly Cloudy Patriot, by Sarah Vowell. The author has as great an interest in politics as I, and she manages to see that world through a whimsical, humorous lens. A lesson to be learned from my end – I take this stuff so blasted seriously. Perhaps a more complete look at the book next week. Okay…I promise.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.